Uncategorized

Closing of Bluff Post Office & My Response

Disbelief was my first thought, then a slow anger that someone should spend 6 years in a business, let it go to a buyer who had no regard for anything than to cash in on the high rents that are being paid for accommodation, brought about with the influx of mine employees both in coal and in gas exploration. 

main

post office as it was up until sale in July 2012..

2012_0726january2012BRIGHT0157

Bouhenia flowers.

2012_0726january2012BRIGHT0544

My aunt I learned from her diary that she operated the Harrami  Local Phone Exchange  in the mid 1930’s..  House my dad & his father built on the farm..

twitter-thumb  Little birdies go tweet tweet tweet..

My name and address..  e mail to That’s Life..

I previously wrote to say ‘thank you’ for my winnings and mentioned the closeure of Bluff’s Post Office, when the owner sold their home but not the business as new owner was only interested in the high rental value of the building/s to cash in on rising Mining in the Bowen Basin.

At 69, I no longer have my own car and depend on a friend or my son to take me shopping at Blackwater Q 4717 that ment we could only access my mail weekly or longer. No door to door mail delivery has been offered from our nearest other Post Office at Blackwater, Qld. 4717.

Our QCWA members offered to give us a limited service using volunteer labour with use of their hall where mail-boxes could be installed and room for them to sort mail and hand out parcels

received on specified hours.

Feedback on their application, Australia Post has offered to place boxes on the block’s front boundry but no shelter for members to sort mail and hand out parcels. This I cannot see as fair and legal as ‘work-place health & safety rules’ should apply even with volunteer labour.

I am hoping to contact ‘Australia Postal Workers Union’ to verify this rule..

Could you please include this information in your publication or have one of your writers write it in more detail with pictures.

Looking forward to your reply,

Standard

Leave a Reply

